Software Testing And Different Levels Of It

Today we are going to study the different software testing levels. An important concept in software testing. Other important concepts related to software testing can be learnt at a software testing course in Pune.

Testing levels are fundamentally designed to recognize missing areas and forestall overlap and reiteration between the development life cycle stages. In software development life cycle models there are characterized phases like requirement gathering and its analysis, design, coding or execution, testing and deployment. Every phase experiences the testing. Thus there are different levels of testing. The different levels of testing are as follows:

  1. Unit testing:

It is actually carried out by the developers to ensure that their code is functioning as expected and meet the client specifications. They test their bit of code which they have composed like classes, interfaces, functions and procedures. It can be called as the smallest or most basic level of testing. This includes white box testing.

  1. Component level testing:

It is likewise called as module testing. The basic contrast between component testing and unit testing is in unit testing the developers test their bit of code, whereas in component testing the entire module is tested. For instance, in a student record application there are two modules one which will save the records of the students and other module is to upload their results. Both the modules are created independently and when they are tested one by one then we call this as a component or module testing.

  1. Integration testing:

Integration testing is done when two modules are merged or integrated, with a specific end goal to test the conduct and functionality of both the modules after their integartion. The following are few sorts of integration testing:

– Top down approach

– Functional incremental

– Bottom up approach

– Big Bang integration testing

  1. Component integration testing:

In the case above when both the modules or segments are incorporated then the testing done is called as Component integration testing. This testing is fundamentally done to guarantee that the code ought not break subsequent to integrating the two modules.

  1. System integration testing:

System integration testing (SIT) is a level where the testing team fundamentally tests that in a similar situation all the concerned systems ought to keep up data integrity and can work in a joint effort with different systems.

  1. System testing:

In this level of testing, testers basically go for the compatibility of the application with the system. It can also be called as compatibility testing.

  1. Acceptance testing:

This testing is actually done to verify the sync between requirements and specifications is met. It is also called in other words as user acceptance testing.

  1. Alpha testing:

This type of testing is carried out in house at the end of the developers. This level of testing is carried out at the very end of the development process. It can be done simultaneously or prior to the Beta testing phase.

  1. Beta testing:

Beta testing is done at customer or end user end. A beta version of the software is released for that purpose. It is carried out before the actual launch of the product in the market. End users can be called in house or the software is released for them. Usually carried out in an outsourced manner. It is a very important level of testing. If a beta version fails, then the product has to be built all over again.

These are the various levels of testing through which a software application has to go before its final release. This is an important phase in the testing of a software.

To learn about testing levels in greater detail, join a software testing institute in Pune.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *